Steel My Faith- Poem


Steel my faith

And bleed my heart

I have nothing left to give

You took it all from the start

I must go now

I know you’ll be fine

You took me for granted

Yes, you walk around blind

Blind to your greed

Blind to your cold heart

You think that you’re right

You leave no room for thought

I’ve been there for you, since day one

And now I must turn my head towards the sun

Cause, I know now that I’m done.

I’m done loving people who don’t really love me

I’m done giving up my dreams to make your life easy

I’m done trying so hard, when you just don’t see

You stand on your soap box in judgment of me

So sure that you’re so much better than me.

Yes, but I know the truth and

I can face reality-

You stand on your balcony pointing fingers at me

So steel my faith

And bleed my heart

It’s too late for me to go back to the start

There’s not much more that you can put on me

I can’t take it anymore

Yes, I’ve served my time

I’ve given so much that I left nothing behind

You gossip, you talk, to make your life seem so full

You take and you take and one day you’ll look for me

and I won’t be there you see.

So steel my faith

And bleed my heart

I have nothing left to give

You took it all from the start

As I walk down this road

My journey in life

I know that I’m blessed

And I’ll be more than just fine

My eyes are open

Yes, I  understand that to forgive is divine

So I gladly turn the other cheek

Cause, as I walk away I know the light will be on me

I see things you just don’t see

You can’t understand, and that put you on a different path than me

So steel my faith

And bleed my heart

I have nothing left to give

You took it all from the start

My journey’s been hard and full of pain

And yet, I know that I’m blessed

And I’ll be more than just fine, once again

 

-Janie

Leave a Reply

