Happy Happy Joy Joy Daily Prompt


What does happiness look like to you? Daily Prompt

This daily prompt stumped me for a while. I sat in front on my computer contemplating, perplexed. Did I have an answer? Do I know what happiness looks like? And if I don’t what does that say about me?

I think happiness is something that I continue to search for. When I think of happiness, my children come to mind. Waking up and looking at my sleeping ten year old daughter. She’s happiness and a true joy to me. Some say happiness is a choice and no one can make you happy, happiness comes from your own fulfillment. I tend to agree, one shouldn’t look to anyone  to make you happy, because you have to begin with yourself.

 A quote from the movie “Pursuit of Happiness” comes to mind. “It was right then that I started thinking about Thomas Jefferson on the Declaration of Independence and the part about our right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. And I remember thinking how did he know to put the pursuit part in there? That maybe happiness is something that we can only pursue and maybe we can actually never have it. No matter what. How did he know that?”

Is happiness only something we can pursue and never truly have? It may be a little of both. I feel true contentment and joy when I’m with my children.  Happiness to me is holding my husbands hand, the comfort I feel when his arms are around me. Peace. Being at peace with myself is happiness to me. Does it have a face? For me it does, it is in the memories and pictures and love of my family. The difference is finding peace with yourself, even when others don’t see you as you see yourself. Happiness comes from being content with who you are, and after that everything will fall into place.

It’s not always easy. Sometimes, parents, siblings, friends and the world in general can reek havoc on your own personal pursuit of happiness. So do what makes you happy, because life is too short for anything else. In the words of Sheryl Crow “If it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad.”

-Janie

One thought on “Happy Happy Joy Joy Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Happy Happy Joy Joy Daily Prompt | inkbloodpoetry

Leave a Reply

