I need you to stay-


I hope one day all the work I’ve done

All the words I’ve written

All the stories spillin’

Will breathe the light of day

Will you take it all in?

Is everything just nothing?

What do I do this for?

Am I just a writer gone mad?

Is it so cliché’?

Will you allow me to stay?

Don’t turn away

I leave everything on my paper

The ink floats onto white sheets

The words left on the screen

I need you to stay

I’ll try to behave

I’m looking forward to things unseen

Will you take it all in?

The world spins

I feel the pain I’m trying so hard to ignore

In the middle of the night, scenes play in my head

The past fogs up my dreams

Inkblood drips from my grip

I’m unsure

Everything I want

Everything I am

Seems to drive you away

I need you to stay

I’m waiting for the light of day

 

Janie Zavala

http://www.janiepoetry.com

Leave a Reply

