When I go


It all comes down to when I go

I hear my heart beat very slow

Some day’s I forget and I start to fret

Thinking that you’re coming home

Dinner isn’t done

And oh no,  my bed isn’t made

And then I get a feeling

It isn’t very appealing

My bones begin to ache

And I feel my heart-break

 

I’ll tell you something

It’s been a blast

My life went by so fast

Most days I don’t remember

Faces, distant places, memories of long ago

 

In mostly my dreams, I feel young

I’m with you and you’re with me

Our hearts beating wildly

I know even though we’re apart

I can tell you we’re still hand in hand

and heart to heart, loving each other

Almost back to the start

 

In a glimpse I can see

The toil and tragedy

The love and pain

Of the life I lived so pleasantly

It was a gift, not a moment wasted

I’m gratefully exhausted

I see comfort in my bed

The warm sheets around my aching feet

The comforter around me

And I shape the pillows in the form of you

 

I forget my train of thought

I know I was in love

It seems like a dream

A dream of long ago

 

I’ll tell you something

It’s been a blast

My life went by so fast

Most days I don’t remember

Faces, distant places, memories of long ago

 

-Janie

One thought on “When I go

Leave a Reply

