It’s only you and I-


No one understands-

The complicated truth-

The easy lies-

The unjust blood-

It makes your heart stop-

It takes your breath away-

So easily broken, by words unspoken-

I have no plan-

My dreams subside-

I’m lost and broken-

So easily forgotten-

And at the end is you-

Only you-

It’s only you and I-

I have to sigh-

You’re an easy target-

You take my pain-

My life-

My love-

My rage-

My secrets-

My bleeding heart-

My pearls-

My garbage-

You hold on to it all-

With a smile on your face-

And a spark in your heart-

Your eyes shine with all the love that you have-

I’m amazed by you-

Transformed because of you-

Your quiet strength is unwavering-

My life is brighter because of you-

When I’m fighting with myself-

You shine your light and make me laugh-

It’s insanity-

Could be a calamity-

Two souls so different in nature-

Fighting to understand-

Lost count of the rounds-

It doesn’t matter-

I have no plan-

My dreams subside-

I’m lost and broken-

So easily forgotten-

But at the end is you-

Only you-

It’s always been you and I-

I have to sigh-

Scenes, memories, words strike like knives-

Passion ignites-

Lightning strikes-

Years gone by-

I’m next to you-

Holding your hand-

Prayin’ that we fly together- You and I-

The first 20 years were but a blink-

Heading down the road for the next 20 to come-

All that I am-

All that I give-

All that you are-

All that you give-

I hope to spend in your arms-

Walking next to you-

Holding your hand-

I have no plan-

My dreams subside-

I’m lost and broken-

So easily forgotten-

And at the end is you-

It’s always been you and I-

Only you-

It’s only you and I-

I have to sigh-

-Janie Zavala

http://www.janiepoetry.com

Leave a Reply

